CFDA 2017 Fashion Awards Nominees

By  |  0 Comments

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) has settled the names of honorees and nominees for the 2017 Fashion Awards, according to a press release on Thursday. The ceremony on June 5 will take place at The Manhattan Center in the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City.

Among those honored is Vetements and Balenciaga designer Demna Gvasalia, receiving the International Award; renowned makeup artist and businesswoman Pat McGrath, taking The Founder’s Award; and Vogue Italia editor-in-chief Franca Sozzani, receiving the Fashion Icon Award posthumously. Designer Rick Owens will take the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. He has won four other CFDA titles.

Competing for Womenswear Designer of the Year are Altuzarra’s Joseph Altuzarra, Calvin Klein’s Raf Simons (also nominated for menswear), and Marc Jacobs. Also nominated for a joint title are the Olsen twins Ashley and Mary-Kate with The Row, and Proenza Schouler designers Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough.

Aside from Raf Simons, Menswear Designer of the Year Award hopefuls include Robert Geller, Tim Coppens, Todd Snyder and Thom Browne.

The Olsens also have a nomination for Accessory Designer of the Year, along with Mansur Gavriel duo Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, and Coach’s Stuart Vevers. Also up are Irene Neuwirth and Paul Andrew.

The CFDA recently updated some of the titles it will award. Separate honors for accessories, menswear and womenswear by new designers have been condensed into one Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent.

Among the nominees this year are Brock Collection’s Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock, and Monse’s Fernando Garcia and Laura Kim. Also nominated are Gabriela Hearst, Off-White’s Virgil Abloh, and Sies Marjan’s Sander Lak. Swarovski will contribute crystals and funds to the winner, according to The Hollywood Reporter.

The association also added a title that will be awarded for the first time this year, the Swarovski Award for Positive Change. That honor will go to Kenneth Cole.

The council has also named Janelle Monae, Gloria Steinem, and Cecile Richards to receive the Board of Directors’ Tribute.

I'm a lover of words in all forms, sweatshirts in all conditions, and God in all circumstances. I particularly enjoy working collaboratively on the written word and wearing microfiber robes (preferably at the same time). Most of the time I don't get enough sleep, but I make a valiant effort.

    Translate »
    Thanks for signing up.
    We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
    Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
    WordPress Popup Plugin